top of page

Submit an  Application.

Proof of Identification

  • Acceptable documentation

  • birth certificate

  • driver’s license

  • state issued ID or passport

 Proof must show that you are at least 17 years of age or older. You must be 17 years of age to be eligible for a cosmetology operator or manicuring license.

 Education Background

A high school or its equivalent (high school diploma or transcript

 GED)

 evidence of completion of home schooling or evidence of a passing score on a standardized exam exhibiting “the ability to benefit from the training.”). A foreign diploma must be translated into English and confirmed that it is the academic equivalence to a U.S. high school diploma. Please note that students admitted under the “Ability to Benefit” standards are not eligible for Federal Student Aid.

Attendance

Students are required to attend a minimum of 70% of the hours possible based on the applicable attendance schedule in order to be considered maintaining satisfactory attendance progress. Evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to determine if the student has met the minimum requirements. The attendance percentage is determined by dividing the total hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled.

At the end of each evaluation period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least70% cumulative attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance rate.

Submit Transfer Information

Transfer students will receive credit for hours received at other schools or states in accordance with Texas state law, and the program cost will be adjusted accordingly. Transfer students must submit transcripts and lab grades from their previous enrollment. TDLR will evaluate a student’s previous training from another state and give the student credit for education that meets applicable criteria. We will evaluate a student’s previous training from another institution within the State of Texas against our course requirements, and may grant full or partial credit for such previous training, in the Administration’s sole discretion. There is a possibility that no transfer credit may be granted in either case. 

Evaluation Periods

Students are evaluated for satisfactory progress once they’ve completed a certain number of program hours.

Cosmetology – 450 & 900 actual hours
Manicuring – 300 actual hours
Transfer Students – midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, whichever comes first.

Evaluations determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic progress. The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by midpoint in the course or Academic Year, whichever comes first. An Academic Year is 900 clock hours in length.

Attendance

Students are required to attend a minimum of 67% of the hours possible based on the applicable attendance schedule in order to be considered maintaining satisfactory attendance progress. Evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to determine if the student has met the minimum requirements. The attendance percentage is determined by dividing the total hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled.

At the end of each evaluation period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least 67% cumulative attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance rate, the student will graduate within the maximum time frame allowed.

Academic Progress

The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a reasonable system of grades as determined by assigned academic learning. Students are assigned academic learning and a minimum number of practical experiences. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical assignments are evaluated as completed and counted toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better. If the performance does not meet satisfactory requirements, it is not counted and the performance must be repeated.

At least two comprehensive practical skills evaluations will be conducted during the course of study. Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures and set forth in practical skills evaluation criteria adopted by the school. Students must maintain a written grade average of 70% and pass a FINAL written and practical exam prior to graduation. Students must make up failed or missed tests and incomplete assignments.

Numerical grade scale:

93 – 100 EXCELLENT
85 – 92 VERY GOOD
70 – 84 SATISFACTORY
69 and below – UNSATISFACTORY
I – INCOMPLETE

Graduation Requirements

Students will be eligible for the State Board examination upon the following:

Completion

Completion of the required hours of training:
Cosmetology – 1000 hours (34 weeks)

 

Payment

Payment in full of all tuition and fees or  arrangements being made.

Upon completion of the training and upon meeting all graduation requirements, a student will be given a diploma, which indicates that the program of training has been satisfactorily completed as described above. His or her hours will then be submitted by the Administration to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.

Admission 

bottom of page